Monday, April 11, 2022


This past weekend, the family did a quick trip to Orlando.  My wife has an annual conference there and it is a nice long weekend to tag along.

Thursday - 4/7 - Leave the house at 8:45 AM for a 12:30 PM departure to Orlando.  Flight was delayed, but we still made it to Orlando smoothly, rented a car and got to the Hilton Orlando by 7:00 PM local time.  Had dinner at Chedder's.  It was not great.  Diya had a chicken sandwich, Nisha had the salmon, I ordered a pot pie and Ratna got a veggie plate.  Ratna drove to her Dad's house that evening.

Friday - 4/8 - Went to the gym and then played tennis.  Went to Walmart to get additional tennis balls and snacks.  Lunch at Subway.  Contractor and Joseph families arrived that evening along with my Father in-law.  Spent some time at the pool and then went to Woodlands for dinner.  Lots of leftovers.  Diya and I had paper masala dosa and Nisha got a regular masala dosa.

Saturday - 4/9 - Went to the gym and then played tennis.  Hung out at the pool most of the day.  Had the opportunity to meet Rinku Singh who recently got picked up for WWE.  He was the Indian javelin thrower who signed a contract with the Pirates after winning Million Dollar Arm (featured in a Disney movie).  Very humble guy.  We all went to Tijuana Flat's for dinner.

Sunday - 4/10 - Slept in and left for the airport around 1:00 PM for a 3:00 PM flight.  Flight was delayed on the tarmac and we did not get home until 7:00 PM Denver time.

It is important to maintain relationships with family.  Also my wife's career requires social appearances by the family.  It is not a big deal, but it is overwhelming for me on these whirlwind trips.  

The toughest part for us is eating and sleeping on vacation.  Inevitably, it is hard to find restaurants we all enjoy.  Also two queen beds is tough for us as I am pushing 200# and even petit women take up space.  I really feel the need to unwind with television in the evenings and that usually hampers everyone from falling asleep.  The other sleep challenge is that I need 6-7 hours, the girls need 8-9 hours and my wife needs 10+ hours.

I should have definitely planned more activities for myself like Top Golf or visiting a Crossfit gym.

I also need to work on my travel related anxiety.  I end up keeping a low dose Imodium while flying and driving around so that I am not always on the lookout for a bathroom.

I overpacked in terms of clothing.  With a line dryer, I can get away with a daily pair of fresh socks, underwear and t-shirt.  Wear the same shorts, sweatpants and sweatshirt for a three day trip.  Toiletries, meds and pajamas are always packed.  I will probably skip flip flops next time and just bring Crocs Santa Cruz and Nike Metcons.

No comments: